The State of Kansas enacted no-fault insurance over forty years ago. The no-fault law provides that, no matter who was at fault in causing the auto collision, you have certain benefits available to you. These include: medical benefits ($4,500 minimum); lost wage benefits; and rehabilitation benefits. For instance, if you are injured you should give the health care provider your own auto insurance information and the bills will be sent to your insurance carrier. Unfortunately, Kansas law requires that you re-pay these benefits to your insurance company in the event you are able to obtain compensation from the negligent driver’s insurance company.
To file a personal injury lawsuit, you will need to have medical bills in excess of $2,000 in order to pursue a claim for pain, suffering, mental anguish, disability, or disfigurement.
If you or a loved one have been injured in a car wreck and would like more information about the personal injury claims process, you can request a free copy of Mike’s book, Kansas & Missouri Auto Accident Victim’s Guidebook, by clicking here or you can request a free consultation by calling Mike at 913-789-7477.